Double Booker Prize breaks rules and makes history

(Premium content) Premium content

Bernardine Evaristo, the first black woman to win the award since it started in 1969, shares the prize with Margaret Atwood.

The judges of the 2019 Booker Prize for Fiction surprised the world this morning (Monday evening UK time) when they announced that they were flouting the rules to award the prize to two authors: British writer Bernardine Evaristo for Girl, Woman, Other and Canadian writer Margaret Atwood for The Testaments – the sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale.

This content is only available to members of ArtsHub

Join Now for instant access!

A subscription to ArtsHub will enable you to:
  • Access the most comprehensive jobs board for the arts sector, with hundreds of positions posted weekly
  • Keep up to date with the latest industry news
  • Access thousands of members-only features, articles and guides
  • Be in the know with upcoming events and exhibitions added daily
  • Learn how and where to get grants, with the most extensive grant finder

... and much, much more.

Join Now and join the Australian arts community today