Daisy Utemorrah Award - Now Open for Entries (Expired)

The 2020 Daisy Utemorrah Award is now open for entries!

The Daisy Utemorrah Award is for an unpublished manuscript of junior or YA fiction. The Award is open to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples currently living in Australia. Generously supported by the Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund and the State Government of Western Australia, the winner of the award receives $15,000 and a publishing contract with Magabala Books.

Published and unpublished Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers of all ages are eligible to enter with works of junior or YA fiction.

For award details and to apply, please download the Guidelines and Entry Form


Any queries please contact our Project Officer, Kate Rendell projects@magabala.com or call Magabala Books (08) 9192 1991

Magabala Books are proud to present the Daisy Utemorrah Award as part of the WA Premier’s Books Awards. The winning author will be awarded at a ceremony at the State Library of Western Australia in July 2020.

Launched in 2019, this national award recognises excellence in junior and YA fiction and seeks to grow Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writing for younger readers.

‘Our young people need stories... They need stories that speak of how to get through tough times, and stories that celebrate who they are and who they can be. The Daisy Utemorrah Award is an incredible opportunity for a First Nations voice to speak, and the story they will tell will help to nurture the next generation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander storytellers.’ – Ambelin Kwaymullina

Information on the Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards can be found through the State Library of Western Australia.


Monday 17 February, 2020
Sunday 31 May, 2020

Western Australia , -

View website (opens in new window)
Awards & Prizes