Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre

The Blake Poetry Prize (Expired)

Key dates:
29 November 2019 - Entries open
31 May 2020 - Entries close

Click here to enter The Blake Poetry Prize

Entries now open.

The Blake Poetry Prize ($5,000) challenges Australian poets of varied styles and religious and spiritual allegiances to explore the wider experience of spirituality, religion, and/or belief in a new work of 100 lines or less.  Please note each entry requires a separate payment. Eligible entries require both a completed entry form and payment of fee.

The 2020 Blake Poetry Prize is managed by Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre in collaboration with WestWords.

Since 2016 Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre (CPAC) has conducted The Blake Poetry Prize as a bi-annual event, ensuring the future of this landmark prize. The Blake Poetry Prize is presented in partnership with WestWords. For enquiries and further information visit

WestWords and Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre will maintain the guiding principles of The Blake Poetry Prize in continuing to engage contemporary poets, both national and international, in conversations concerning faith, spirituality, religion, hope, humanity, social justice, belief and non-belief. The Blake Poetry Prize is an aesthetic means of exploring the wider experience of spirituality with the visionary imagining of contemporary poets.

The Blake Prize takes its name from William Blake, a poet and artist who integrated religious and artistic content in his work. The Blake Poetry Prize challenges contemporary poets of disparate styles to explore the spiritual and religious in a new work of 100 lines or less. The Blake Poetry Prize is strictly non-sectarian. The entries are not restricted to works related to any faith or any artistic style, but all poems entered must have a recognisable religious or spiritual integrity.


Wednesday 13 May, 2020
Sunday 31 May, 2020
Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre
Venue Address
1 Powerhouse Rd Casula NSW 2170

New South Wales , Liverpool

Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre (opens in new window)
Awards & Prizes