ACU Prize for Poetry

An initiative of the Office of the Vice President and forming a critical part of ACU’s comprehensive Arts and Culture Strategy, the ACU Prize for Poetry receives hundreds of entries each year from across Australia.


The theme for 2020 is Generosity.

“If truth doesn't set you free, generosity of spirit will.” - Katerina Stoykova Klemer

Winners will announced at the Awards Night which will be held on the ACU Melbourne Campus on Tuesday 22 September 2020.


First prize: $10,000

Second prize: $5,000

Third prize: $3,000

The prize is made possible through the sponsorship of the Office of the Vice President at ACU.

How to enter

Entries can be submitted online only through the ACU Prize for Poetry website. Postal entries will not be accepted for the 2020 competition  The entry fee is $25 per poem.

Poems must not exceed 80 lines and pages should be numbered. The text documents containing poems entered must not include the author's name anywhere in the text of the entry or anywhere else in the document, such as in headers or footers.

Entries should be submitted in Arial or Times New Roman font size 12 and in the following formats only:

  • .doc or .docx
  • .pdf or.rtf

Confirmation of receipt and payment for online entries will be sent by email.

Enter now


Final judge         

Professor Chris Wallace-Crabbe AM

Distinguished poet, academic and critic, and a generous contributor to literary culture, Emeritus Professor Chris Wallace-Crabbe is one of the leading figures in Australia’s literary community and enjoys a wider reputation in the international world of letters.

Professor Wallace-Crabbe began publishing poetry while an undergraduate, producing many volumes and winning awards and prizes, including the Grace Leven Poetry Prize in 1985 for The Amorous Cannibal, the Dublin Prize for the Arts and Sciences in 1987 and the Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal in 2002.

His Selected Poems: 1956 – 1994 won both the Dinny O’Hearn Poetry Prize and the Book of the Year Award in the 1995 Age Book of the Year Awards.

In 2011 he was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia, and last year he was awarded the prestigious Melbourne Prize for Literature in “recognition of his outstanding contribution to Australian literature and cultural and intellectual life”.

Shortlist Judges

Professor Margot Hillel OAM – Chair of Academic Board, ACU

Dr Carolyn Masel – Lecturer (Literature), Faculty of Education and Arts, ACU


Wednesday 8 April, 2020
Monday 6 July, 2020
Venue Address

National , n/a

View website (opens in new window)
Call for Writers