Writing NSW

Writing NSW Varuna Fellowship

The Writing NSW Varuna Fellowships are awarded annually to writers who have a work of fiction, creative non-fiction, a play, or a suite of poems that is ready for the next stage of development.

In 2020, two fellowships are available, with one place reserved for a writer under the age of 30. Applicants must be Writing NSW members and be willing to commit to developing their work.

Previous recipients include Kaya Wilson, Winnie Dunn, Tanya Vavilova, Karina Young, Adele Dumont, Christopher McDonald, Irma Gold, Alex Chalwell, Mark Brandi, Jacqui Dent, Helen Thurloe, Lucie Stevens, Alison Thompson and Greg Woodland.

Entries for the fellowship are now open, and will close midnight AEST Sunday 5 July.


Tuesday 9 June, 2020
Sunday 5 July, 2020
Writing NSW
Venue Address
Callan Park, Rozelle

Sydney ,

Writing NSW (opens in new window)
Awards & Prizes