Australian arts jobs, news, industry commentary, career advice, reviews & data


What's On

The Walkley Foundation

The Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship open for entries (Expired)

University students and recent graduates aged 26 years or under with a passion for TV journalism and storytelling and big dreams of carving out a career in the competitive television industry: This is the opportunity of a lifetime.

Over 12 weeks, successful applicants will develop their knowledge, understanding and experience of the media industry with a range of top media organisations, including:

  • An eight-week placement at the Nine Network in Sydney, including four weeks at60 Minutes,two weeks in the Nine newsroom and two weeks split between A Current Affair and Today.
  • A four-week placement at the Walkley Foundation, in the lead up to the 62nd Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism.
  • Participation in one TV production course through the open program at the Australian Film TV & Radio School (AFTRS)
  • Mentoring from senior journalist members of the Walkley Advisory Board

The successful applicant receives a stipend over the twelve weeks of the scholarship.

Terms & Conditions
Selection Criteria

The 2017 internship will run from Monday September 4 — Friday November 24. Please note the internship is a full time (Mon-Fri) commitment so applicants should take this into consideration when applying.

If you have questions about the scholarship please contact Lauren Dixon at

Applications close April 26

2016 Walkley Jacoby Scholarship Winner

Judges Anita Jacoby, Josie MacRae (Nine Network), Jenny Brockie (SBS) and Dan Ilic had the difficult task of choosing a winner from a field of entrants who demonstrated a high standard of quality, intelligence and sophistication in their content and presentation.

University of Technology Sydney student Taylor Denny was named the 2016 winner of the Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship. Read the full announcement here.

Past Winners and where they are now …

Taylor Denny (2016 winner): producing videos for The Australian after interning with Al Jazeera in Jakarta

Annalise Bolt (2015 winner): After finishing her scholarship Annalise Bolt made the move from Sydney and is now a Producer at Nine News Perth.

Kirrily Schwarz (2014 joint winner): Kirrily Schwarz was a ravel reporter with, responsible for writing and producing click-worthy content, generating traffic and starting conversations. She has now moved move into a new role and is responsible for producing the high-rating Rush Hour column, which is a wrap of all the stories people should know on their way to work.

Megan Stafford (2014 joint winner): Megan Stafford is currently lettering her adventurous side run free and is travelling the globe!

Will Mumford (2013 winner): Will Mumford is a multimedia reporter and producer, who joined SBS World News in 2015 as a cadet before being employed as a cross-platform journalist.His work has also been broadcast and published at, The Feed, The Conversation, The Sydney Morning Herald and other media outlets.Will joined Dateline in 2016 as Online Producer.

Established in 2013 with support from senior TV ProducerAnita Jacoby to recognise the legacy of her father Phillip Jacoby – a pioneer in the Australian electronics and broadcast industry – this paid internship offers applicants the chance to work with atv accessories and learn from some of Australia’s leading news and current affairs journalists and producers.


Monday 10 April, 2017
Wednesday 26 April, 2017
Venue Address
245 Chalmers Street

National, Sydney

The Walkley Foundation (opens in new window)
Awards & Prizes