Mona Brand Award - Entries open for $40,000 award to recognise female scriptwriters

The State Library of NSW has opened nominations for the $40,000 Mona Brand Award for Women Stage and Screen Writers 2018, the only award of its kind in Australia. 

The Mona Brand Award recognises outstanding women writers for the stage and screen, with the major prize of $30,000, and an additional $10,000 for a writer in the early stages of her career, to be presented at the State Library on 23 October 2018. 

The biennial Mona Brand Award has been made possible by the generous bequest of the late Mona Alexis Fox née Brand (1915–2007) and the State Library of NSW Foundation. 

According to Kim Williams AM, Senior Judge and Chairman of the State Library of NSW Foundation, “Mona Brand was a remarkable, indefatigable creator – poet, writer, playwright and commentator who held strong social and political convictions at a time when they were not necessarily well received or even welcome. 

“Through this award we celebrate Mona Brand’s legacy and generosity of spirit as witnessed in her bequest to the State Library of NSW.” 

Entries close at 5pm on 20 July 2018.


Wednesday 6 June, 2018
Friday 20 July, 2018

National, -

Awards & Prizes